Why are speeders allowed a 10mph buffer?

The margin is intended to address language in the Arizona
Revised Statutes related to speed offenses that defines, "...reasonable
and prudent..." speed. It also provides a reasonable margin of error/grace
for inaccurate vehicle speedometers and short-term lapses of attention by
otherwise law-abiding and generally cautious drivers.

Our primary focus is on intentional, aggressive and
negligent drivers. Statistics tell us that at 10 mph over the posted speed
limit, the probability of being involved in a crash double. However, at
20 mph over, the probability increases to 11 times greater. We are trying
to change the driving behavior of those persons who are most likely to cause

Show All Answers

1. My rental car company notified me that I have a citation, what do I do?
2. I live outside of Arizona; can I still take a defensive driving course to have the citation dismissed?
3. I just drove through an intersection and the camera light flashed, has a citation been issued to me?
4. What should I do if I’m not the driver?
5. I lost my citation. How do I get another copy?
6. Why are speeders allowed a 10mph buffer?
7. Are points assessed against my driver’s license for photo enforcement convictions?
8. Can I avoid points against my license by taking defensive driving school?
9. How much is the fine for my photo enforcement citation?
10. Where does an intersection begin?