
maining 12 cases either 

lacked sufficient evidence, 

were outside of AZ ROC’s 

jurisdiction, or were closed 

for other similar reasons. 

Statewide, the Agency re-

ceives and investigates an 

average of about 2,500 com-

plaints each year related to 

unlicensed contracting, or 

Contracting Without a Li-

cense, which is a Class 1 Mis-

demeanor. 

How big of a problem is 

unlicensed contracting in 

Paradise Valley? 

Since the beginning of 2015, 

Arizona Registrar of Contrac-

tors (AZ ROC) received and 

investigated 40 unlicensed 

complaints from Paradise Val-

ley property owners alone. 

These homeowner complaints 

allege that unlicensed entities 

contracted for projects total-

ing well over $1.7 million and 

were actually paid over $1.5 

million for those projects. In 

exchange, the homeowners 

received poor workmanship 

and/or complete job abandon-

ment. Sadly, since not every 

victim files a complaint, those 

totals are likely far greater 

than were substan-

tiated through 

ROC investiga-

tions. 

 

 

 

 

AZ ROC serves to promote 

quality construction by licens-

ing contracting companies in 

Arizona and investigating com-

plaints against licensed and 

unlicensed entities. When 

investigating unlicensed com-

plaints, however, AZ ROC can-

not recover damages for 

homeowners and the Agency 

will typically first seek compli-

ance from the unlicensed indi-

vidual, i.e. encourage them to 

become licensed, if no dam-

age occurred. There are, how-

ever, consequences for bad 

actors and those who damage 

properties or take money and 

perform no work, including 

assessments of civil penalties 

and, in some cases, jail time. 

Of the 40 Paradise Valley cas-

es, 12 were served cease and 

desist letters and 16 were sub-

mitted for criminal prosecu-

tion which resulted in over 

$40,000 of restitution, nearly 

$6000 in fines, 8 years of pro-

bation, 40 hours of communi-

ty restitution, and 5 years in 

the custody of the Depart-

ment of Corrections. The re-
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The Paradise Valley Police Department is providing this bulletin 

to keep residents informed on joint successes collaborating with our community. 

Questions? 

Steven McGhee 

Community Resource Officer 

Paradise Valley Police Department 

6433 E. Lincoln Dr. 

Paradise Valley, AZ 85253 

smcghee@paradisevalleyaz.gov 

Office: (480)348-3567 

Written by Jessie Winter, Public Information Liaison, of Arizona Registrar of Contractors 

Paradise Valley Police Department 

 

OUR MISSION: 

Provide high-quality 

police services to our 

community, reduce 

crime and the fear of 

crime, and by work-

ing with all citizens, 

to preserve life, pro-

tect property, pro-

mote individual re-

sponsibility and en-

courage community 

involvement. 

Story Continues to Page 2 
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What to watch out for? 

A common type of complaint involves 

an unlicensed entity claiming a li-

cense was not required for the pro-

ject because they are working under a 

“handyman exemption.” There is no 

handyman 

exemption. When hiring someone 

else to do the work, a contractor’s 

license is mandator whenever the 

total cost of the project is over 

$1,000, including all labor and materi-

als, or whenever the project requires 

a permit by the local municipality, 

regardless of the price. 

AZ ROC also warns homeowners to 

avoid door-to-door scammers who 

claim to be able to offer low prices 

because of extra materials left over 

from another project. The results of 

these scams are often inferior work-

manship and greater costs for the 

consumer because someone else will 

need to be hired to correct the shod-

dy work. 

Why are licensed contractors 

the better choice? 

The Registrar only issues licenses to 

those who qualify for them. The ap-

plication process is thorough and re-

views all of the following: 

● Relevant experience history and 

industry knowledge 

● Workers’ compensation insurance 

● A bond with appropriate coverage 

● Criminal background history 

● Complaint history 

If a problem does occur when using a 

licensed contractor, such as if workman-

ship is below standard or is in violation of 

existing codes, a residential property own-

er has significant protections not available 

to persons hiring an unlicensed entity 

which include: 

● Administrative Resolution Process: a 

complaint can be filed against the contrac-

tor's license within two-years from the 

date of occupancy or date the last work 

was performed. 

● Residential Contractors' Recovery Fund: 

under certain conditions and depending 

on the cost of damages, homeowners can 

receive up to $30,000 to have the work 

corrected or completed. 

Statewide as of June 26, 2019, AZ ROC has 

paid out nearly $1,022,000 from the Re-

covery Fund, with an average of $14,500 

paid to homeowners in Paradise Valley 

alone. Although these homeowners were 

negatively impacted by poor workmanship 

and/or job abandonment, the sensible 

precautions they took in hiring licensed 

contractors enabled the Registrar to assist 

them in getting recovery. 

How do I find licensed contractors 

in my area? 

AZ ROC reminds property owners to al-

ways ask contractors of their license sta-

tus and to actually verify the license using 

the contractor search tool at 

www.roc.az.gov or by giving the Agency a 

call at 1-877-692-9762. 

Residents can sign up to use our 

Code Red system to receive alert 

notifications from the Paradise 

Valley Police Department by the 

means of a text message, an 

email, or automated phone call.  

There are two notification 

settings. First is our general infor-

mation such as upcoming commu-

nity events. The second is strictly 

for emergency notifications. Our 

residents can opt to receive one 

or both alert types. 

Signup on website today at 

www.ParadaiseValleyPD.com 

Facebook.com/PVPolice 

Twitter.com/PVPolice 

Paradise Valley Police Station 

6433 E Lincoln Dr. 

Paradise Valley, Arizona 85253 

Dispatch Center: (480)948-7410 

Emergency Calls: 911 

ParadiseValleyPD.com 

Its easy to stay connected by joining our Constant Contact email list! Simply send your email address by text message.  

Text PVPD to 22828 to get started. Standard message and data rates may apply. 


